Praise The Lord: Facebook Is Introducing A Button So You Can ‘Unsend’ Messages
We've all been there.
Entertainment 8m

While there’s currently a movement to #DeleteFacebook, those staying on the social media platform can breathe a sigh of relief, with news that an ‘Unsend’ button will be introduced for messaging.

Have you *accidentally* confessed your love to someone over Facebook messenger, or *accidentally* told your boss to get fucked when he makes you stay overtime? Facebook may now have you covered, with news that there’ll be an ‘Unsend’ button introduced over the coming months.

It’s not finalised how the button will work, but some are speculating that messages will have a set timer, whereby after the time runs out, the message will be deleted from the inbox of both the sender and recipient.

“We have discussed this feature several times. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer — and have their messages automatically deleted. We will now be making a broader delete message feature available,” a statement from Facebook says.

The news comes after Facebook was found to have deleted old messages from Mark Zuckerberg and other company executives. Now, after the shady behaviour’s been revealed, Facebook says those capabilities will become more widespread and available to all users.

“And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not,” they continued.

Stay tuned for that precious ‘Unsend’ button.

Words by Christopher Kevin Au April 9, 2018
Editors Pick