Alice Ivy Has Crafted The Earthiest Single Of The Year On Collab-Heavy ‘Wildlife’
Music news presented by Boost Mobile.
Words by Amar Gera December 5, 2023

Image via Dominik Schmarsel //

Featuring Rest For The Wicked’s Ben Townsend, The Bleachers’ Sean Hutchinson and more…

Coming in hot for the last month of the year is renowned Aussie producer Alice Ivy, who’s managed to serve up one of the most transportive singles of the year in her new bop, ‘Wildlife’. The track sees Alice immerse herself utterly and fully in the sun-soaked spirit of the best time of year, crafting a breezy sonic soundscape that would play just perfectly on your next annual beach sesh on a +30 degree day.

Linking up with Dutch singer-songwriter Dotan, Alice herself makes a return to the vocal realm, lending her pipes to an entire verse as she and Dotan sing about sunlight, fauna and all the goodness offered by the natural world. Joining them is a swathe of effects and some gentle, but powerful, harmonies and whistles. The added synths and acoustic guitars add a folk sensibility to the track that helps it transcend the conventional bounds of a pop song.

It’s an ethereal blend of sonics, one that’s further enhanced by some guest vocals of Rest For The Wicked’s Ben Townsend and drums courtesy of Sean Hutchinson of Bleachers. The end result is a melting pot of sounds and feelings, however, one shines through brighter than the rest, with the overarching love of summer and nature being front and centre.

Speaking on the earthy single and how its sonic fingerprint came together, Alice explains, “I love the blend of acoustic and electronic elements in the production, it reminds me of long drives with the windows down in the Australian summer” while adding, “I share a beautiful studio overlooking the Merri Creek in Melbourne with Pip and one day we decided to do some writing together and see what we could come up with.”

It’s another solid offering from one of Australia’s most underrated producers, and gives a good teaser as to what awaits on her upcoming album, Do What Makes You Happy. For now, check out ‘Wildlife’ in full above and be sure to buy/stream it here.

Music news presented by Boost Mobile.

Editors Pick